Some Things REALLY Take Some Getting Used To...

Chrissy W.
on 9/8/14 3:01 am - Indianapolis, IN
VSG on 07/01/13

I'd have never guessed that you used to be obese! ...WOW! You've lost how much?? ...There's no way you were ever big enough to need WLS...

...You're really pretty.

That last one was from my precious boyfriend just a few days ago :) Some comments are taking a REALLY long time to get used to. I've been holding at "goal" ("normal" BMI) for a few months now and am debating whether or not I want to continue losing (I like having SOME curves, and I don't want my breasts to flatten out or my ass to sag any more than their current respective states).

It's such a mind trip to be looked at like that. It's weird to be lumped into the thin/pretty/attractive crowd. I had gotten pretty comfortable being in the smart/funny/invisible crowd over the last several years and I don't know how I feel about being jerked out of it!

Example: I was crossing the street yesterday and THREE guys turned to look at me. I'm not bragging (not at all!). The truth of the matter is that getting "looks" makes me uncomfortable after having been relatively invisible for so long. It kind of reminds me when I would get the other kind of stares at my HW (poor thing, look how fat she is) Honestly, I'm a little nervous of any sort of positive attention when it comes to my looks... I've even found myself deflecting with jokes when my guy compliments me. 

I'm rambling... Sorry, guys. Grad school is frying my brain.

Can any of you relate? It's nice to be thin, and I do think that I'm attractive currently, but it's still so STRANGE to hear it from other people. How did you learn how to accept compliments on your physical attractiveness without feelings of bitterness/annoyance/general squick?

Happy Monday, VSGers. Hope you're all doing fantastically :)