Harder than I thought...

jmay86
on 2/20/16 7:01 am
VSG on 03/03/16

So I'm on day 3 of my 2 week pre-surgery "diet" and I didn't anticipate it being this difficult.  Here is what my surgeon has me doing for my daily food intake:

8:00AM - Meal Replacement Shake (I went with GNC Lean Shake RTDs)
11:00AM - Meal Replacement Shake
1:00PM - Salad (veggies only) with 2tbsp of Light Dressing and a Meal Replacement Shake
3:00PM - Meal Replacement Shake
6:00PM - 6oz Lean Meat & 1c Green Veggies
8:00PM - Meal Replacement Shake

Now, I'm no doctor, but I think the point of Meal Replacement Shakes is to replace full meals, not have multiple times a day as a snack, right?!

At this point, I've not been able to take in 5 of them a day, it's just too much...  The 8:00PM one is gone from my "diet"... 

Was anyone else given a "diet" like this?

JudithJohnson
on 2/20/16 7:20 am
VSG on 12/03/15

The reason you need to eat every 2-3 hours is because the main reason we gain weight is unstable blood sugar. By eating more regularly, the body actually goes into fat burning mode as it understands that it doesn't have to store fat because it's being fed every 2-3 hours. Keep the 8 PM on there, it's very important or maybe pu**** to 9 PM, but you don't necessarily have to drink the whole replacement shake if you can't. As long as you drink a little bit. 

Judith, 46, surgery date  12/3/15

SW: 317 CW: 210 GW: 180

White Dove
on 2/20/16 8:08 am - Warren, OH

My two week pre-op was clear liquids only.  I was allowed broth, water, diet juices, sugar-free jello and sugar-free popsicles.  I never eat or drink anything unless I really want it.  Skipping a meal replacement shake would be fine with me.  I had no hunger after day three and weight fell off on my clear liquid diet. I was also on liquids for two weeks after surgery but allowed to add protein shakes after surgery.

Real life begins where your comfort zone ends

emelar
on 2/20/16 8:22 am - TX