7 days post-op and a steep learning curve

petra65
on 7/5/16 6:02 am - AL
VSG on 06/28/16

i am officially 1 week post-op today and was noticing that today is actually the first day I can say I feel "happy" again.  I wouldn't say strong or energetic yet, but I can definately tell I am making progress every day.

i thought I had read a lot and attended my educational classes, I'm a medical professional, I thought this was going to be a breeze and it hasn't been.  It is still major surgery, you will have pain, you will get constipation, nausea, all the other things that come with major surgery.  And it will take most people more than a couple days to recover.  

However, I have to admit I did a couple stupid things.  No matter how many times I read on here about how you are no longer hungry after surgery, I didn't understand this meant for the first time in my life I was going to have to force myself to consume calories and that was really hard for about 5 days.  I was consuming about 200 calories a day-and no I wasn't meeting protein or fluid requirements but I just didn't want anything.  

I also had a difficult time getting a handle on taking new meds, vitamins, old meds, not mixing things that shouldn't be taken together.  Over the weekend, I set a bunch of alarms on my phone to go off.  I may not need this forever but I clearly need it now and the past couple days I have been getting it done. 

right1
on 7/5/16 6:20 am
VSG on 06/27/16

Hi Petra!  I am a week out as well, and a medical professional.  I get you.  I am annoyed at having to take additional medications.  I am annoyed that my body is not performing all of its normal functions without prodding.  I was a bit surprised at the level of fatigue and weakness I felt.