My 6 month labs are in..

Mrs.M
on 3/24/11 12:44 pm
Got my six month labs this week. The bad news is that my cholesterol is creeping back up and i will probably need statins again.  My family has genetically high cholesterol so I was really expecting this.  My blood sugar was good, but my A1C wasn't great.  My D3 sucked!
What do you think?
Vit D 15.8
TIBC 361
Iron 57
Ferritin 25
Folate 17.3
Zinc 120
Vit B12 606
Potassium 4.0
Calcium 9.8
AST 31
ALT 38

Any suggestions?  I've already increased my Vit D to 3000 a day.  I see my PCP in May and can get more tests if needed.
Janet 

Ladytazz
on 3/24/11 1:31 pm, edited 3/24/11 1:33 pm
I am no expert but you are going to need a lot more the 3000 of D to get your number up. My D was barely detectable and I had to take vitalady's D3 50 daily to start to see a change. I have finally got it up to 72 but it took a long time. I would buy vitalady's D3 50s and start with one a day for a while until your next draw and see where you are at. You could also email vitalady and ask her advice or I am sure Gina will be along soon and she'll know what to do.
Also, you ferritin seems kind of low. My ferritin was 7 and I needed an iron infusion. I am sure yours is within normal limits but at the bottom. You might ask vitalady or Gina what you should do about it.
Also your B12 is lower then I have heard it should be. I was told that it should be over 1000, even though the lab range says it is normal. Are you getting shots or sublinguals? You may want to increase it a bit.
Mrs.M
on 3/25/11 3:01 am
Thanks for the input.  I will order the D3 today.  Does taking more iron automatically increaase ferretiin levels?  I am taking the B12 shots now-I give them to myself.  I was doing them 1x a month but I think I will switch to every 3 weeks and then have PCP check in May to see if it goes up.
Janet

loverofcats
on 3/24/11 2:01 pm