H. Pylori

lalove590
on 5/17/11 5:20 am - NC
I was sleeved April 27. I just received a call from my surgeon's office - the path report came back that I have H. Pylori. I have never tested positive for this before. I am a nurse so working in the healthcare setting no telling what you can pick up. I have to take an antibiotic/acid reducer mix for 4 weeks and then retest. The doctor's office said that this may be the cause of my constant nausea since surgery and some pain. I have lost 20 pounds since surgery. Anyone else ever had H. Pylori? I did some research and it did not seem detrimental to my weight lostt but if not treated could cause ulcers eventually. Let me know if  you have any thoughts...to put my mind at ease. Thank you!

MajorMom
on 5/17/11 6:28 am - VA
I didn't but I do have a friend that tested positive pre-op. She had no idea she had it but the round of antibiotics must have cleared it up. She had a pretty sensitive system once she had her surgery but I don't know if the 2 were related. She has lost weight beautifully and is a very happy camper now.

--gina

5'1" -- HW 195/SW 187/GW 115 July 08/CW 121 Dec 2012
                                 ******GOAL*******

Starting BMI between 35 and 40ish? 
Join us on the
Lightweights Board!
DS on Aug 9, 2007 with Dr. Hazem Elariny

lalove590
on 5/17/11 7:41 am - NC
Thank you Gina for putting my mind at ease!

2nd_Chance_Chick
on 6/14/11 7:22 am
On May 17, 2011 at 1:28 PM Pacific Time, MajorMom wrote:
I didn't but I do have a friend that tested positive pre-op. She had no idea she had it but the round of antibiotics must have cleared it up. She had a pretty sensitive system once she had her surgery but I don't know if the 2 were related. She has lost weight beautifully and is a very happy camper now.

--gina
almost the same answer i posted on m page that happened to me.
taking  the anti-bi prev pack for 2 weeks. got 6 days to go.