Hi, New to Lightweights. Got a question

jujubee4224
on 6/19/12 10:47 pm
RNY on 04/09/12
Hi, I'm Julie. I'm new to the lightweight forum. I had RNY on April 9th. I have been reading posts about protein coffee. Exactly how do you make it. My pouch needs warm fluids to start its day and to keep it happy. So glad to be here and meet everyone. Reading your posts have encouraged me, as I have felt that I have been losing at a slow rate, even with the daily exercise.

dasie
on 6/19/12 11:22 pm
Hi Julie...Welcome.  I can't answer your question because I do not know who to make the coffee either.  I just wanted to say hello.

Tonya499
on 6/19/12 11:44 pm - Riverton, UT
 Hi Julie, Welcome!  Firstly, does your plan allow coffe?  I "negotiated" a plan for coffee with my surgeon.  One cup per day, no more, and not until 8 weeks post surgery.  That said, here is what I do.  I mix 1/2 c of 2% milk with 1/2 scoop of unflavored protein powder from Unjury to make a slurry.  (think of making gravy)  Then I mix 1/2 cup of coffee into the slurry and mix it.  I do this twice every morning.  1 cup of coffee, 8 oz milk, 1 scoop of protein powder =  29 g of protein and I don't feel deprived.

Good luck,
Tonya

Start weight 226. Surgery weight 218 on 1/6/12    
rbb825
on 6/20/12 10:44 am - Suffern, NY
Did you ever ask your surgeon if you could have decaf earlier out?  The cafeine would be the only reason for him to not let you have it earlier out since caffeine can cause ulcers and dehydration but if it is decaffinated, there should be no reason to not allow it.

the easiest way to make it is to make the coffee, tea or hot cocoa as you normally do.  Either brewing or via microwave.  Then take the protein powder (I use 1 1/2 scoops and add 1/3 of a cup of warm water and mix slowly with a spoon until it is smooth - no pieces at all.   Cool water will cause chunks of powder and then you need to add more warm water to remix.  It must be totally smooth when done - no powder.