Daniel Hoeltgen

Bariatric Surgeon
Rating: 5 out of 5 with 31 ratings

Daniel Hoeltgen Bariatric Surgeon MD

15 yr in Bariatrics

15 yr in Laparoscopic Surgery

7 yr in Laparoscopic Bariatrics

40% Practice is Bariatrics

Min Age of Patient is 18

Max Age of Patient is 75


31 Reviews for Daniel Hoeltgen
Show reviews by   Sort by Most Helpful | Newest
avatar

Dr. Hoeltgen spent a lot of time explaining the process. He is a highly skilled surgeon. The office staff is superior. His after care program consists of a nutritionist and a support group. This is my personal impression of my own personal experience.

Jan. 8, 2005

avatar

If I would have to rate him from 1 to 10, I would give him 10. I was very impressed.
He spent an hour with me explaining all the risks and beneffits from this surgery.
What I realy liked about him is that he completely understands how hard it is exersise or be active when you are over 300 lbs.

Jan. 7, 2005

avatar

Great MD

Nov. 22, 2004

avatar

Dr. Hoeltgen was very knowledgable and made me comfortable. He answered all the questions I thought I had even before I asked them. Everyone in his office are very friendly. I went for my appt. one week before surgery and he went over everything again, and answered any remaining questions I had. I feel very comfortable to know that he will be performing my surgery. I feel that I am in good hands!

June 3, 2004

avatar

I was quite impressed with Dr. Hoeltgen. I found him to be very skilled, intelligent, knowledgeable, friendly and very informative. He made me feel that he really cares. He answered all of my questions thoroughly and patiently. Dr. Hoeltgen gave me a clear idea of what I could expect before and after my procedure. His office staff is very warm and understanding, and I felt as if I made new friends every time I left the office. Because of my experiences, I would recommend Dr. Hoeltgen and his entire staff at Barrington Surgeons Ltd. I couldn't imagime being in more capable hands. I will be forever grateful to Dr. Hoeltgen for giving me a new life.

June 2, 2004

avatar

When I first met Dr. Hoeltgen I was impress with his quick straight to the point attitude; I did research him prior to meeting with him I had reservation because of his age (we are the same age 30ish). But I have to say when he said there is no excuse that I should have diabetes because of my weight I new I made the right decission, he was very very informative he was patient and answer all of my questions and his staff were great very relax and friendly environment, I also like the fact that they follow through, they did everything.

May 27, 2004

avatar

When I first met Dr. Hoeltgen I was impressed with his knowledge and his ability to answer all my questions with out me asking anything...he gave an informational talk to my husband ( who was leary of the procedure, but after hearing Dr. Hoeltgen explain everything, became a proponent for the surgery) and myself for 3/4 of an hour. He also struck me as very confident and self-assured, something that also gave me more confidence) I am now 2 1/2 weeks post op and still feel that I was right in my chose of surgeons. Having said that I must admit I am dissapointed in the aftercare program, there doesn't seem to be one, but I did a lot of research on this surgery before hand, and so I feel that I am doing ok, but I am going to talk to him at my next post-op visit, maybe I missed something?
He was very upfront about possible risks, and took every step to prevent them, I did have a small problem with a "nicked" bowel that needed to be re-sected, but that was my anatomy, I have had a lot of problems with scar tissue from previous surgeries, so it is nothing that I feel was done by mistake, in fact since this happened the pain I was feeling in my side prior to surgery is gone...so I thiink that removing the scar tissue and that portion of my bowel "cured" me. As a surgeon he is the best!!!

April 16, 2004

avatar

During my first consultation with Dr. Hoeltgen, he seemed a little hyper and fidgety. Aside from this, he allowed me as much time as needed to discuss the entire wls procedure, from getting approval from insurance all the way through the post op diets and nutritional requirements. He went over all the risks thoroughly and made sure I understood them. At every step of the process he kept me will informed of what to expect. As an example, the day of surgery he saw me before surgery and explained to myself and family how long the surgery was expected to take, how long I'd be in recovery, what kind of room I'd find myself in when moved from recovery, and even went through how many tubes I'd have and what they were for. It was comforting to know this information beforehand.

His office staff is great. They are enouraging and helpful with questions and paperwork that needs to be completed.

The only thing that made me uneasy about Dr. Hoeltgen was his age. For some reason I tend to equate respect, authority and skill with someone older than myself. I keep getting older and older, so I'm going to have to use a different measurement.

For post op support, Dr. Hoetlgen will refer you to the program at Good Shepherd Hospital. I am a great distance away from there, so he suggested I do research and find a support group close to me. However, when I was discharged from the hospital, the nutritionist that visited me gave me a list of groups and contact names with phone numbers for me to use to locate a group close to me.

Overall, I am extremely satisfied with Dr. Hoeltgen. I think he excels in his surgical competence over the bedside manner, but I have no complaints about either. During my second pre-op visit, Dr. Hoeltgen even told me that he would be out of town for a day after surgery and one of his associates would visit me in the hospital instead. Dr Hoeltgen stopped to see me in the hospital the evening he returned.

March 5, 2004

avatar

My first impression of Dr. Hoeltgen was that he was very skilled, intelligent and helpful. My surgery went well and he did a great job at communicating with my family and was constantly (someitmes twice a day) at the hospital checking on me after surgery. Nine days out I had a very rare complication and Dr. Hoeltgen was in the ER with me and had to operate again a day or so later.

Again, he was a great communicator with me and my family and is a wonderfully skilled surgeon. (He saved my life, doesn't get much better than that!)

His office staff is also very nice and always helpful. I highly recommend Dr. Hoeltgen.

The only concern that I had was that the aftercare program could use a little more emphasis and information. I think that they are working on that and getting the patients more info already.

Feb. 4, 2004

avatar

Seemed very nice gave me lots of info!
Courtney was a wonderful gave me lots of info and helped with insurance!!!
Surgery scheduled for jan. 14,2004
Hopefully all will go will!!!! and will post later!

Dec. 15, 2003

DISCLAIMER
The information on this page is presented as supplied by the indicated members of our community. ObesityHelp.com does not monitor or edit this information.
×