Mahbod Mark Paya

Bariatric Surgeon
Rating: 5.0 out of 5 with 38 ratings

Mahbod Mark Paya Bariatric Surgeon M.D.

5 yr Experience

5 yr in Bariatrics

5 yr in Laparoscopic Surgery

5 yr in Laparoscopic Bariatrics

90% Practice is Bariatrics

Min Age of Patient is By case

Max Age of Patient is By case


SurgiThin Profile Pic
SurgiThin
Bariatric Center

38 Reviews for Mahbod Mark Paya
Show reviews by   Sort by Most Helpful | Newest
avatar

Dr. Paya and his staff are wonderful people! He's an excellent surgeon that knows his stuff. His bedside manner and professionalism is impeccable. Satisfied.

June 23, 2014

Overall
avatar

Love, Love, Love this Surgeon!! I came to Dr. Paya for a revision...too bad I didn't find this doctor originally to do my gastric sleeve :-/

Dr. Paya is genuinely very kind and considerate. He runs a tight ship and you will see him before during and after your surgery. Dr. Paya explains everything to you, not some assistant. After surgery, Dr. Paya comes and checks on you, not some assistant.

I love Dr. Paya's staff members except for maybe the newest female team member at the front desk (not to friendly and doesn't have that warm welcoming feeling all the other team members give off when you walk into the office-even on the phone. Just saying) Otherwise, this Office is a 5 star and Dr. Paya is off the charts!!

March 26, 2014

Overall

1 previous review. « hide

Love, Love, Love this Surgeon!! I came to Dr. Paya for a revision...too bad I didn't find this doctor originally to do my gastric sleeve :-/

Dr. Paya is genuinely very kind and considerate. He runs a tight ship and you will see him before during and after your surgery. Dr. Paya explains everything to you, not some assistant. After surgery, Dr. Paya comes and checks on you, not some assistant.

I love Dr. Paya's staff members except for maybe the newest female team member at the front desk (not to friendly and doesn't have that warm welcoming feeling all the other team members give off when you walk into the office-even on the phone. Just saying) Otherwise, this Office is a 5 star and Dr. Paya is off the charts!!

March 26, 2014

Overall
avatar

I had the Gastric By-pass 31 years ago when I was 13 years old. If I would have known that this many years out I would be having the medical problems that I have now I would have never had it done. When I go to doctors no one could help me. Please think twice before you have the surgery done. Doctors know how to do the surgery but no one can treat the side effects.

April 12, 2013

0 of 2 people found this helpful

avatar

I am so excited, just got the word from Lucy, office manager, that my gastric sleeve will be done on 8-10-12. Met with Ann Stone nutritionist (wonderful, caring lady who really cares about the patient.

After interviewing 5 other doctors, I have decided and already paid for my surgery. I checked out Dr. Paya, brotherin law and his wife, both know Dr. Paya, from working at Northridge. When they heard I was checking out doctors for the surgery, both told me Dr. Paya is the best surgeon and is a great doctor. That says a lot when an RN and breating therapist think so highly of Dr. Paya.
I can't wait to begin my Journey.
"only 150 to go.. one day at a time, one pound at a time.
I can recommend Dr. Paya, have spoken to many of his patients and eveything I was told was glowing and a 10+++++. So if you are seeking *ANY* type of weight loss surgery, save yourself hours of wasted time. See Dr. Paya first.
Sincerely,
Darlyn Boyle
[email protected]<----- feel free to email me if anyone has amy questions.

July 16, 2012

Overall

1 previous review. « hide

I have met with Dr. Paya 2 times. He is kind, caring, knows a lot about weight loss surgery. I plan to get the gastric sleeve.
He takes time out of his busy schedule to make sure the patient is taken care of.

March 30, 2012

Overall
avatar

Dr Paya was heaven sent. I struggled so much to loose weight and I met two co-workers that were so happy with his surgey and I worked at the hospital where he performed his surgeries. He is a very skilled surgeon, he is Board Certified in General Surgery and a member of American College of Surgeons and a member of American Society of Bariatric Surgery. He is a very caring surgeon and I love Dr Paya.

April 19, 2012

Overall
avatar

I absolutely loved Dr. Paya! He is very informative and will take the time to cover any concerns you may have! I am glad I was reffered to him.!

Sept. 29, 2011

Overall
avatar

Office said it was mandatory I ONLY use a certain psychologist for the psych evaluation prior to surgery because West Hills only allows the work of this person, which I figured was not true. The cost was $500 for a 15 minute call. She does not accept insurance. I called my Blue Cross rep, who said, it was outrageous. The psych test can be done by a qualified person for this type of evaluation. I was actually billed for a surgery that was NOT performed to the tune of $11K. I'm not sure if it is Lucy the office manager doing this or it's coming from the doctor, but as they say, "The fish stinks from the head". Needless to say, I never had the surgery done here, I went somewhere else.

Sept. 22, 2011

1 person found this helpful

avatar

I had a fantastic experience with Dr. Paya. He was very nice, and wanted to make sure I knew everything I needed to know about the process.

His office is great. Christie and Crystal are in the office, and I was super impressed when I came in for my second time, and without even looking at anything, Crystal said, "Hi Tarin!" She knew who I was right away. They are both really nice girls.

I met with the nutritionist in the office who went over everything I needed to know about eating and my vitamins, and showed me examples of what I could have. Christie did the same thing a couple of days before surgery, showing me what my private room would look like and providing me with lots of paperwork for me to read about what to expect.

The surgery was easy, I went in to change into my gown, I waited a little while on my bed, and they came to roll me into the surgery room. The anesthesiologist was nice and funny, and they took great care of me. I went to sleep and I woke up about 2 or 3 hours later. I never felt any pain.

I saw Dr. Paya about 3 times in the hospital, and then saw him one more time 2 weeks later. (Next schedule is in 3 months).

The only "negative" (and not that negative) thing I have to say is that although I think Dr. Paya is wonderful, I do think he is a bit quick because he is so busy. I would like to have spend a little more time with him. But other than that, it was a great experience.

May 22, 2010

1 person found this helpful

avatar

THE BEST SURGEON!!! WHAT CAN I SAY! HE GAVE ME MY LIFE BACK. SURGERY WENT WELL. NO COMPLICATIONS. FELT GREAT AND HEALING WAS QUICK. THE STAFF IS SUPER SUPPORTIVE AND THEY FEEL LIKE FAMILY. THEY GIVE YOU AS MUCH TIME AS YOU NEED. THEY GIVE YOU ALL THE INFO YOU WILL EVER NEED BEFORE, DURING AND FOLLOWING SURGERY! DR PAYA IS THE BEST! I REFER DR PAYA TO FRIENDS AND ANYONE WHO SEEKS THE BEST!! I ONLY WISH HE DIDN'T SPREAD HIMSELF AROUND SO MUCH AND WAS MORE AVAILABLE FOR FOLLOWUP APPTS. (ONLY AVAILABLE ON TUESDAY MORNINGS IN OUR OFFICE). Has a great support group at Northridge Hospital first Thursdays of the month at 7 P.M.

Feb. 17, 2010

1 person found this helpful

avatar

very nice guy, one of the down to earth doctors, very friendly and above all supportive and communicative to his patients.

His office staff is also very friendly as they did everything they could to speed me through their process because I had already began the process with another doctor that insurance ended up declining last minute.

Dec. 24, 2009

1 person found this helpful

DISCLAIMER
The information on this page is presented as supplied by the indicated members of our community. ObesityHelp.com does not monitor or edit this information.
×