VSG Maintenance Group

Groups » VSG Maintenance Grou... » Discussion » I need a little sup...

I need a little support!!

debibridev
on 2/1/16 7:47 am

I have been maintaining my weight loss for 6 years, however, since August I have put on almost 8 pounds. I think it is because I am going through Menopause and a few other stresses but I am starting to freak out because I am so afraid I am going to gain it all back. I know I need to get back on track before that happens but I am having a hard time focusing. So please help me to help myself and give me some tips before I spiral out of control! I know you understand what I am going through!

Spencerella
on 2/1/16 9:23 am, edited 2/1/16 1:43 am - Calgary, Alberta, Canada
VSG on 10/15/12

Welcome Deb! We're glad you found us!  It sounds like you've done an amazing job of maintaining over time and I'd say your eight pound gain is completely fixable!  It seems that such things are part of most lifetime journies so please remember that. 

To get you started - Whenever I have to lose some weight (typically about five pounds) I start by eating nothing but dense protein for a few days. I eat all of it that I want, but nothing else until my head hunger and cravings subside. I get on the scale every day and I'm usually rewarded with a fairly substantial loss within a week.

I'd also suggest checking in here every day for accountability and encouragement. As you know,the first few days are super tough but if you can white knuckle through them, the rest of the process gets easier.  Keep reminding yourself of all you've accomplished and why it's important to take this regain off now.  

Kairk has been successfully dealing with a larger regain, so I'm sure he will be able offer much more wisdom than I've been able to. Eight pounds is completely fixable and if you tighten things up again after you get it off you will likely do just fine!  Those good habits may be a bit rusty but they are still there.