I got hit on!

volleyballgirl
on 7/8/11 11:51 pm - Germantown, MD
It's a match made in heaven- the post-surgery girl who is on a soft food diet and the monger at the seafood counter!  He sure was persistent.  Too bad he was creepy.  Kidding aside, I forgot how uncomfortable that can make me. How do you deflect this attention when it is unwanted?
Proudtobaloser
on 7/8/11 11:55 pm - Fayetteville, NC
Politely thank him/her for their compliment then walk away. If it persists then do not go back there.

As a single person we make but a whisper, as a crowd we make a roar. A friend.
"I never claimed to be an expert at such matters, but I am an expert at giving my opinion."- My dad

webinfochick
on 7/9/11 2:27 am - brunswick, GA
I understand completely. I was always the fat girl with my girlfriends, so I never got hit on. After I lost the weight, I got hit on by men.

It is quite akward. I am a natural flirt, but it is just good natured flirting. Before, I never had to worry about men taking it the wrong way (or they just were not interested!). Now, they think I want them.

I agree that you should politely smile and say thanks. You can say I am flattered, but I don't think my husband, boyfriend, lover.... would approve. It is an excuse, but it works most of the time. In those occassions the person doesn't care, then smile and walk away.
Alicia
5'5"
240/133/125

cabin111
on 7/9/11 7:23 am