Went in for DS-came out w/VSG Still in shock

grisaille
on 3/9/12 12:19 pm - NC
I know I've posted once but I cannot shake this disorientation of waking up with a different surgery than I went under the anesthesia to have.  I studied and researched and jumped through hoops for 9 months and chose the DS.  I admit part of the decision was because of the less regain but mostly because of my diabetes and high blood pressure and BMI of 57.  But due to internal difficulties due to previous surgeries, the surgeon was unable to do the switch part of the DS safely so I gather I have just the sleeve. 

I am so worried I won't be able to lose all my weight as I am a heavy-weight.  I am 15 days post-op and have been taken off all diabetic medications and cholesterol medication.  Now I may have to go back on some insulin when I start soft foods on Monday.  And I worry about insurance payment of the surgery.

I thought I would settle into the identity of a VSGer but haven't.  Everythig I have read says it is for lightweights.  I have lost a chunk of weight since before the surgery. . . .so I guess I'm just being insecure.

HW 369  SW 369 GW 199
Jack_Fabulous
on 3/9/12 12:25 pm - VA
VSG on 02/16/12
I have 150 lbs to lose and I got a VSG.  I don't think it is just for light weights.

MacMadame
on 3/9/12 3:05 pm - Northern, CA
"Now I may have to go back on some insulin when I start soft foods on Monday. "

Why? I've been on the VSG board for 3.5 years and I've never seen a single person go back on insulin when they start on soft foods. VSG, RnY and DSers typically get off all insulin immediately unless their diabetes is really bad and then they aren't off it out of the hospital.

Also, diabetes resolution for VSG is similar to RnY and both are only about 10% lower  than DS on average. That's not a big difference.

"Everything I have read says it is for lightweights."