sleeve/lap band

T Hagalicious Rebel
Brown

on 3/3/14 11:23 am - Brooklyn
VSG on 04/25/14 with

Newbie here, I'm in my last month b4 I can get scheduled for wls and I was thinking lap band, but am now thinking of getting the sleeve. Trying to weigh pro and cons of both b4 final decision,any info from people who have had either one would be helpful., is it odd to want to get something different? I wonder if it's kinda weird when I was so pro lap band but now am considering the sleeve and I wonder more if my doctor might think I'm weird for changing my mind.

AnneGG
on 3/3/14 12:44 pm

I certainly think your doctor will have no problem working with you about figuring out what will work best for you. I changed my mind a couple of times until my surgeon and I figured out what would work best for me.

I started out wanting the lapband because it is the least invasive surgery, but decided I didn't want it because of the level of complications plus maintenance, and looking back now, I'm very grateful I didn't get it. I went with an RNY because of my history of GERD. I would have liked the sleeve so I can take NSAIDs, but the sleeve can make GERD worse.

There is no perfect weight loss surgery, they all have varying benefits and costs as well as risk factors for complications. They also have varying levels of body invasiveness from the lapband which is the least invasive but has a high rate of complications ranging through to the DS, which is the most invasive in terms of innards rearranging, requires the highest skill levels from the surgeon, and carries the highest risk factors for complications. There are also different levels of frequency performed for the surgeries, with the RNY still performed the most frequently, the sleeve catching up, the lapband losing popularity, and the DS performed the least frequently by a large margin.

A useful link for comparison:  http://www.thinnertimes.com/weight-loss-surgery/wls-basics/weight-loss-surgery-comparison.html