Have A Question

vetrenee
on 8/15/16 8:31 am

Ok. So I have a question for everyone here. I am looking at getting a Gastric Sleeve. I have been doing alot of research and belive that this is what I need to get myself better for me and my family. Here is my problem I am new to my job and benifits. I have not picked out a PCP and am worried I will have to see them for a long period of time before I can bring up the subject of surgery. I am also worried that becuase I am new to my insurance company they would not approve this for me.

What are your suggestions? 

Should I wait or bring up at my first meeting?

I have 3 kids under the age of 10 and want to do all the activites they love but am not physically able.

I am 5"1' 225. I have been overweight since I was a teen and am finally at the point in my life that this is the best thing for me.

I have done mnths at the gym going 5 dys a week doing 1 hr a dy and only able to lose 10-15 lbs but it will come back.

I have done most Diets and Pills, Weight Loss Programs. 

Help!

rachelp
on 8/15/16 9:46 am
VSG on 08/01/16

Here's how mine went. I contacted Surgeons office (referred by a friend). They took down my insurance info and said they would get back to me in a few days. They contacted my insurance and found out everything I needed. They contacted me and told me my insurance policy will cover the surgery, and scheduled my consult. The day I went in for my consult, they showed me everything my insurance required. I have BCBS so I only needed an endoscopy, psych evaluation and 2 nutrition visits. I don't even have a PCP. Some surgeons require a referral from a PCP but not all. You can call your insurance yourself and find out if the surgery is covered on your policy. They will tell you what you need as well.   

Sleeved 8/1/16

HW 285 / SW 276 / GW 160

joanne0658
on 8/15/16 9:46 am