Newbie here - what is minimum protein amount?

Newbie2U
on 2/2/18 8:10 am

I'm prepping for surgery right now with a liquid diet. What would you say is the minimum grams of protein to get a day? My doctor wants 100g but I've been lucky to get 60g. Is this going to hurt me down the road?

Thanks!

Writergurl08
on 2/2/18 8:45 am
RNY on 02/15/18

In my program, 60 is minimum, but up to 100 is preferred

HW: 340 SW: 329 Goal: 170

CW: 243

Surgeon: Dr. Kalyana Nandipati (Omaha, NE)

theAntiChick
on 2/2/18 9:17 am - Arlington, TX
VSG on 08/17/16

Source: https://www.healthline.com/nutrition/how-much-protein-per-da y (But it mirrors what I was taught in nursing school)

The RDA is .36 g per pound of body weight.

For a 150-lb person that's 54g

HOWEVER. You need more if you're trying to lose weight, recover from illness or trauma (and surgery is a trauma), or build muscle.

A common recommendation is 1g per lb but I suspect that's for someone at their regular weight, because I certainly couldn't have gotten in 300+ g when I was my heaviest. Even now at 195 that's a LOT of protein.

I shoot for 130g personally, and 65g is my bare minimum based on my target weight.

* 8/16/2017 - ONEDERLAND!! *

HW 306 - SW 297 - GW 175 - Surg VSG with Melanie Hafford on 8/17/2016

My blog at http://www.theantichick.com or follow on Facebook TheAntiChick

Blog Posts - The Easy Way Out // Cheating on Post-Op Diet

Newbie2U
on 2/2/18 9:32 am

What do you drink/eat to get in 130g? I'm drinking AdvantEdge shakes and they are gagging me. I've tried Premier, Slimfast High Protein, Nectar, etc.

theAntiChick
on 2/2/18 10:45 am - Arlington, TX
VSG on 08/17/16

I still have to supplement to get that amount in. I drink Premier ready to drink most mornings for breakfast (I'm not much of a breakfast person). I also have unflavored powder that I add to soups, coffee, other drinks, yogurt, etc. With eggs and meat, I can usually get over 100g and can stretch it to 130g if I work at it.