Get a life.

1crazy_cat_lady
on 8/10/12 8:42 am - Winnipeg, Canada

That was the outcome of my therapy session yesterday.

Now of course this conclusion came in a much kinder, gentler manner but the meaning is the same no matter how you slice it.

Like most people, life consists of family, friends and work. My family is in Ontario as is my childhood good friend. My best friend in the entire world is here, however in the last year she met her beau and they were married in June so her priorities are different. So that leaves work. I have a pretty stressful job that I love, admittedly, probably too much. I am easily frustrated that others don't have the same passion or if I believe that things don't go they way they should (I work in healthcare). So because family is far away and my bestie is busy with her new life, all I have is work.

So in the course of yesterday's therapy session and talking about feeling a loss of identity between losing weight (identity of "the fat girl") and losing some of the role of confidente for Cheryl it was determined that I need to get a life.

So my dilema is this: I'm 37 years old, the 2 other women in my life that I have social contact with have their own families and wider social circles so contact is limited. I don't know where to start to find a life. My work schedule is evenings so that cuts out a huge chunk of time that potential social activites occur. My anxiety is high because I have no clue what to do from here.  I'm having a FML moment and feeling "too old" for this.

HW: 361  CW: 337.8  Goal:  To come off most of my meds

Nathalie_Can
on 8/10/12 9:49 am
What about like joining cooking classes? join the library?  maybe some single people would be there, and if not, you might get a new bestie out of it!

Man I suck at finding social events/activities but check the newspaper, maybe some activities in there?