I didn't realize plastic surgery was so common

axmxb546
on 2/17/19 11:06 am

Hello again. As I've stated in the general discussions forum, I am new to obesity help. I won't be ready for surgery until June/July. I've been looking through the posts here. I didn't realize that plastic surgery was so common. I know my insurance will cover PS if I develop rashes and what not in the skin folds, but is that very common to develop rashes? Do most people do it for cosmetic reasons, skin issues, or both? (no judgement either way). Is loose skin worse if you loose a lot of weight really fast, or if you have a larger amount to loose? I will probably loose around a hundred pounds. According to the BMI I need to loose about 190 lbs, but I just don't think that would make me look healthy. I'm 330 now and BMI says like 140-175 (I'm 5'10") with my surgeon saying closer to 140. I was 175-190 from about middle school through age 18. I've thought about my boobs sagging, but I didn't really think about all my other parts. Should I prepare myself a lot of loose skin? I'll talk to my team about it at my next appointment, but reading through some posts have got me thinking. Anyone around my size before surgery? How did your body look with the weight loss? Does my height give me any advantage in the loose skin department?

Thanks for reading,

Amanda

Gwen M.
on 2/17/19 1:23 pm
VSG on 03/13/14

Hi there.

I think you might be getting a skewed impression. The number of people who lose massive amounts of weight, and maintain, is pretty small, and the number of -those- people who pursue reconstructive surgery is pretty small. So it's probably not as common as this forum makes it out to be!