Sip, sip, sip... Forever?

Jodibee
on 5/15/13 11:58 am

I am three weeks out, doing great, just wondering about the sipping though.  Is it a forever thing or will we be able to take larger drinks later on?  It is okay to take larger drinks or does that cause damage to the pouch?

BWB
on 5/15/13 12:23 pm

Sometime in the last 1 1/2 years I could drink normally again.  Sorry I can't remember the exact time but it will improve for you too.

poet_kelly
on 5/15/13 12:30 pm - OH

You can't damage your pouch by drinking, even if you gulp or guzzle.  It might cause you discomfort or nausea, though.  I'm four years out and big gulps still feel uncomfortable for me but I take normal size drinks.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

Cicerogirl, The PhD
Version

on 5/15/13 12:39 pm - OH

Many people can take normal sized drinks very early after surgery.  You can take whatever size drink doesn't cause you any discomfort.  For some people that means only small sips, for others that means a normal drink. Liquid never caused me any discomfort even while I was still in the hospital.  I often didn't WANT to drink, but it didn't hurt.

Lora

14 years out; 190 pounds lost, 165 pound loss maintained

You don't drown by falling in the water. You drown by staying there.

Missy A.
on 5/15/13 1:03 pm - NC
RNY on 08/17/12

I've been drinking normal size drinks since about day 4. It didn't bother me and I can even gulp some water down after workouts now.

Missy

HW:348 Consult W:320 SW:295 Current W:156 GW:140

Robin R.
on 5/15/13 1:08 pm - PA
RNY on 10/12/12