I took a couple of ibuprofen for the 1st time since surgery!

farewell2fat
on 6/29/11 6:20 am - Apopka, FL
I had a BEAST of a headache & no Tylenol in sight, so I broke down & took ibuprofen. I know it's a no no, but isn't this rule really geared towards people who would use ibuprofen regularly & not just on an occasional basis??

acbbrown
on 6/29/11 6:26 am - Granada Hills, CA
Why is it a no-no? I was told I'd be able to take NSAIDs with the sleeve...I hope i can take them eventually :-/

It's probably better for your stomach to limit the amount you take, but I didnt think it's forbidden with the VSG. ( i could always be wrong since I'm still new at this...)

www.sexyskinnybitch.wordpress.com - my journey to sexy skinny bitch status

11/16/12 - Got my Body by Sauceda - arms, Bl/BA, LBL, thigh lift. 

HW 420/ SW 335 /CW 200    85 lbs lost pre-op / 135 post op

~~~~Alison~~~~~

fatmoose
on 6/29/11 6:37 am - FL
 My surgeon told me that even with the sleeve nsaids were out forever with the exception of the liquid filled gel-caps.  He said the reason is that with so much less stomach acid nsaids tend to stick to the stomach lining and can quickly result in an ulcer.  I keep some of the gel-caps around as I do not like Tylenol.  Luckily I haven't needed either so far.
Hope this helps.
Birdie55
on 6/29/11 6:38 am
It isn't a no no to take Ibuprofen. My surgeon cleared me to take 2 - twice a day about a month post-op. I take them for an old neck injury and picked VSG surgery because I would still eb able to take them post-op.

Ht 5' 4  SW 181  GW 120 - 125  Age 61  CW 130

Edit   Delete          

mythreechildren2001
on 6/29/11 6:41 am
My surgery is in less than 2 weeks.  I haven't been told that I can't take ibuprofin post surgery.
pommom3
on 6/29/11 6:42 am - MI
 I was told by my surgeon that its a no no forever!!  Because of ulcers we will never be able to take nsaids.

angieb77
on 6/29/11 6:43 am - Blaine, MN
I was told it was a no-no.  I can only take tylenol.