ghrelin

VSGjohn23
on 3/9/15 9:12 am

Hi VSG'rs,

I am closing in on my surgery date 3/23. I'm very curious about reduced ghrelin hormone after surgery. I have strong hunger desires like many, but I've heard the stories about post op surgery VSG'rs are not hungry like they used to be before they had surgery. Is this fact or fiction?

Thanks for any feedba k given.

Queen_Q89
on 3/9/15 9:19 am - FL
VSG on 02/19/15

Hi. Im fairly new to this. I was sleeved on 2/19/2015, and I must say it is 100% true. The hunger goes away! The only problem that im facing are the cravings inside my head! I have other family members that I live with who still eat regular food and I get cravings. It gets hard at times but I just try and remember why I had the procedure in the first place. Through it all I can never say that I have ever been hungry!! Good luck!

GeekMonster, Insolent Hag
on 3/9/15 9:22 am - CA
VSG on 12/19/13

Fact.  But not always for everyone.  

A lot of hunger issues are in your head rather than physical cravings.  The portion of the stomach that generates ghrelin is removed but ghrelin is also generated in other areas of your body.

I can say for myself that I have not have physical cravings for hunger since I've had surgery.  It's all in my head, and that's a tough nut to crack.

Keep in mind that many recent post ops think they're feeling physically hunger when in fact it's stomach acid.  My surgeon required that I take a PPI for six months post surgery.  Make sure you ask your surgeon if he/she prescribes one and how long to take it.

Because I've developed GERD post surgery, I continue to take a PPI.   The side effects are minimal and it reduces the nastiness from the stomach acid.  Good luck!

"Oderint Dum Metuant"    Discover the joys of the Five Day Meat Test!

Height:  5'-7"  HW: 449  SW: 392  GW: 179  CW: 220

PrayMore
on 3/9/15 10:18 am

I am no longer hungry. But, after a 3 oz. to 4 oz. of dense protein, I do feel quite full for a while! It's great!