OT: Completely overwhelmed

MacMadame
on 8/9/11 8:26 am - Northern, CA
I uploaded a new resume to Dice (it's like Monster for tech jobs) and my phone has been ringing off the hook. This is a good thing, right? Well I'm completely overwhelmed and I am mostly getting calls from recruiters and these take up time and hardly ever lead to anything. Plus I've had two technical phone screens and bombed them both.

I am in a weird position because I've done a lot of web work but it's all Web 1.0 technologies and there are all these new technologies out there that I'm slighly familiar with but not enough.

So I'm a Senior Developer so they want my skills with Web 2.0 technologies to be at a certain level. They aren't but, because I am a Senior Developer, they could be within a month or two of being hired because after a certain point, it's all the same, just the names are different.

But they won't hire me because I'm not already there.

I'm trying to write some sample code for one the positions but I keep getting interrupted by the phone. I think I'm going to stop answering it for a while unless it's someone I know.

HW - 225 SW - 191 GW - 132 CW - 122
Visit my blog at Fatty Fights Back      Become a Fan on Facebook!
Starting BMI 40-ish or less? Join the LightWeights

MajorMom
on 8/9/11 9:21 am - VA
Get 'em, Marie. Swinging lizards for you.

--gina

5'1" -- HW 195/SW 187/GW 115 July 08/CW 121 Dec 2012
                                 ******GOAL*******

Starting BMI between 35 and 40ish? 
Join us on the
Lightweights Board!
DS on Aug 9, 2007 with Dr. Hazem Elariny

Jody ***
on 8/9/11 9:44 am - Brighton, MI
RNY on 10/21/08 with
You can do it!!  Shut the phone off.  I too was inundated by recruiters wanting to market my resume... no thanks...

Get your code done, I'm sure they'll see the talent there.

HW-218/SW-208/CW-126/ Lowest Weight-121/Goal-125 - hit 8/23/09/Height-5'3"

Regain 30 lbs from 2012 to 2016 - got back on track and lost it.  Took 8 months.