Guillermo Alvarez

Bariatric Surgeon
Rating: 4.97989276139 out of 5 with 1127 ratings

Guillermo Alvarez Bariatric Surgeon MD

Guillermo Alvarez Bariatric Surgeon Picture

15 yr in Bariatrics

15 yr in Laparoscopic Surgery

15 yr in Laparoscopic Bariatrics

100% Practice is Bariatrics

Min Age of Patient is 11

Max Age of Patient is 75


Brandi Carter Profile Pic
Brandi Carter
Patient Coordinator
Rosie Flores Profile Pic
Rosie Flores
Patient Coordinator
Lourdes Carranza Profile Pic
Lourdes Carranza
Personal Assistant

1127 Reviews for Guillermo Alvarez
Show reviews by   Sort by Most Helpful | Newest
avatar

Dr. Alvarez was involved with his patients every step of the way. Pre surgery one of his people was assigned to me & was an intermediary. She answered & addressed any & all concerns I had. Thanks Brandi! Upon arrival we were greeted taken to our room & given a menu. That poblano soup is the bomb. I've tried to replicate it at home & can't quite get it right. That evening Dr. Alvarez met all of us (i think we were a group of 6 or 7) to introduce himself, tell us what to expect & answer any questions we had. Next morning we were prepped for surgery. It was quick. Dr. Alvarez checked in that night & following morning. He continued to send emails letting us know when we could have fuller liquids & when we could start eating solid foods. He also provided his contact info in case we feel the need to reach out to him. I would highly recommend f
Dr. Alvarez & his staff for anyone considering this option.

Nov. 25, 2022

Overall
avatar

I had VSG surgery almost three months ago with Dr Alvarez at Endobariatric Hospital. It was a first class experience. They really have the entire experience down to an exact science. I left with all my medicines and instructions I needed to go home and be successful. I’ve lost 35 lbs and feel amazing. I have 55 lbs to go to make it to my goal weight and I am confident I can do it and keep it off. Thank you Dr Alvarez and your entire staff.

Nov. 20, 2022

Overall
avatar

Hola Mi Nombre es Marylin Camaraza.
Deseo Felicitar al Dr Alvarez, y todo su Staff,desde mi primer Contacto con el Hospital donde solicitaba informacion,me atendio Rosantina,y siguiendo en orden por el chofer que tan gentiblemente nos traslado desde San Antonio Texas hasta el Hospital,donde fuimos recibidos con mucha amabilidad por El personal del Hospital,Todos los encargados de velar por nuestra recuperacion,todos los medicamentos e Instrucciones a la hora planificada,La calidad y Limpieza del Hospital,Hotel,en fin todo lo que puedo comentar es 5 estrellas,Tecnologia de Primera Generacion,Felicidades Dr por sus conocimientos y Crear un maravilloso equipo de trabajo

Nov. 15, 2022

Overall
avatar

I am a retired Fire fighter turned rancher. I definitely do my research. I researched several doctors in the United States and several doctors in Mexico. The doctor I felt most comfortable with was Dr Alvarez of Endo bariatrics from the moment you reach out to his patient coordinator you are treated like a VIP. It is hard to believe that before I even had surgery I was able to reach out to the doctor himself and get a question answered. I had surgery August 12th 2022. The whole process was amazingly smooth and professional. The facility is top notch. It is not the cheapest place to go to but it is the best. It is only a few thousand dollars more than some of the cheaper ones yet several thousand dollars less than what the United States has to offer, I am three months postop and down 51 pounds so far I’ve gone from a 42 inch waist down to a 34 inch waist. My experience was so positive that both my wife and daughter went and had the same surgery with Dr Alvarez and are experiencing the same positive results .

Nov. 10, 2022

Overall
avatar

Best decision of my life! Dr. A is the best! Surgery Aug 11th 2022. I've lost 30 lbs. (low bmi here). Recovery was easy for me. No complications, no nausea, no gas. He's very professional and meticulous as well as having a great bedside manner. My husband was very impressed. Staff was wonderful as well. Accommodations are A1....Thank you Dr. A
Highly recommend.

Nov. 9, 2022

Overall
avatar

Dr A is a excellent surgeon and has a fantastic team as well. I was nervous about going to Mexico for surgery but did my research and felt that it would be safe and that he was the surgeon I wanted to do my procedure. The center is excellent in every way. Your schedule while there is explained very clearly and any questions are answered. The staff is professional and friendly. I am three months post surgery and down 40 pounds. I feel so much better!! Using Dr. Alvarez is the best decision ever! By the way, unknown to me before surgery I had a hiatal hernia found during surgery. Dr. Alverez repaired the hernia at NO EXTRA CHARGE. That would never happen in the United States. Best medical experience I have ever had! Thanks a million Dr. A!!!

Nov. 8, 2022

Overall
avatar

I am so grateful for Dr. Guillermo Alvarez's expertise and the care I received at the Endobariatric Hospital. My "mini" sleeve was the best investment I've made for my health and quality of life.

Dr. A's supportive staff, the cost, easy recovery from surgery, and beautiful facilities made this decision one that I value very much.

I am enthusiastic about recommending this procedure with a master surgeon and team who have made it their mission to help those who struggle with obesity with this weight-loss tool, the gastric sleeve.

Oct. 26, 2022

Overall
avatar

Let me start off by saying having surgery is not for the faint of heart, it takes a lot of courage. If you have scheduled your surgery and are waiting or considering surgery I am proud of you. This is a big decision and will change your life. I live in Texas and unfortunately my insurance covers nothing when it comes to any type of bariatric surgery. I called around my local bariatric surgeons offices to see how much out of pocket was, which was still too high. I have over the years heard of people going to Mexico for weight loss surgery and having amazing results. I started off by googling the best bariatric doctors and of course Dr. Alvarez popped up with Endobariatric. He is one of the top 12 Master Bariatric Surgeons worldwide which is a big deal! After going over his website thoroughly and watching all of his videos. I mean at least 80% of them, and reading the reviews which are by far the most important thing to me. I decided to take a leap of faith and go to Mexico to have VSG surgery. Endobariatric provides a shuttle that picked us up in San Antonio and brought us directly to the hospital. We are able to bring a companion or a spouse. I brought my husband. He was taken really great care of while we were here as well. For those who are flying into San Antonio, there is a hotel you are able to stay at where we are picked up and dropped from. Once at the hospital, which is the most immaculate facility I have ever been in. The cleanest hospital I have ever been in and I have been in many in the US. The staff gets you checked in and brought to your rooms. You will meet with Dr. A that evening and have surgery the next morning. Everything went amazing! I got a fun metal for the most laps walked in postop. This was pretty fun because it encouraged all of us to continue walking. Help with all that extra air. The next day if you were up to it they will bring you in town and to the Endospa which I highly recommend. The massages are wonderful. On this adventure we met the most amazing people that will be lifelong friends. Doctor A and his staff are phenomenal and available at all times to you once you are home and recovering. You will get a great package of information for your pre op and postop instructions along with a personal coordinator. Your coordinator will also add you to a private Facebook page full of over 4500 members . This has been a wonderful group of supportive people to help you along the way.

I will be three months postop this week and am 47lbs down. I haven't felt this good in over 11 years. This surgery has changed my life in all the best possible ways. I am so grateful to Dr. Alvarez and his wonderful staff. I highly recommend Endobariatric. Put your worries aside and take the plunge. It will be the best thing you could do for yourself. Just remember you only get one chance at life. I am so glad I didn't let fear control my future.

Oct. 23, 2022

Overall
avatar

I was given a recommendation by another doctor to go to Dr. A. He had the best results/reviews. I contacted his office and everything moved fast and easy, I wanted to go to the hospital before my surgery to make sure it was what I wanted. I was not disappointed, everyone from the receptionist, office, nurses, and of course the doctor were GREAT! Dr. A makes you feel informed and most of all safe and secure about your decision. I would recommend (and I do) to anyone thinking about doing the surgery. He said "give it 3 months" and I'm living my best life and my only regret is not going sooner.

Oct. 7, 2022

Overall
avatar

Dr Alvarez and his whole team are extremely professional they have a great deal of knowledge especially Dr Alvarez I was so scared that I actually cried and they were so nice and took the time to comfort me and my surgery went extremely well! No complications at all I arrived from out of town Friday had surgery Saturday was back home Monday! Best decision ever I wish I did this years ago the hospital is so clean and everything and everyone was perfect in my opinion plus dr Alvarez takes the time on all Social media to answer any questions! I’d recommend this to anyone looking into have VSG surgery

Oct. 1, 2022

Overall
DISCLAIMER
The information on this page is presented as supplied by the indicated members of our community. ObesityHelp.com does not monitor or edit this information.
×