Guillermo Alvarez

Bariatric Surgeon
Rating: 4.97311827957 out of 5 with 954 ratings

Guillermo Alvarez Bariatric Surgeon MD

Guillermo Alvarez Bariatric Surgeon Picture

13 yr in Bariatrics

13 yr in Laparoscopic Surgery

13 yr in Laparoscopic Bariatrics

100% Practice is Bariatrics

Min Age of Patient is 11

Max Age of Patient is 74


954 Reviews for Guillermo Alvarez
Show reviews by   Sort by Most Helpful | Newest
avatar

I struggled my whole life with obesity. Finally at 52 I knew I needed the help to get on the path to a healthier life. I researched and saved and finally on Valentine’s Day I was give the tool by Dr. Alvarez and Endo Hospital. He is simply the best and has assembled the best team and built the most amazing facility, hospital, and hotel. I put my faith in him and here I am just 5 weeks out and I feel fantastic. I know I will be successful. I am down about 35 pounds, I exercise 4 days a week and I eat healthy. If you are in need of help with your struggles with your weight please look no further than Dr. Alvarez at Endo Hospital. There is no better surgeon and no better path to a healthier longer life.

March 20, 2020

Overall
avatar

Dr. Alvarez and his team at Endobariatrics were great. They were very professional, attentive, caring staff. His hospital was clean. This is the first thing I looked for when I arrived. A dirty hospital likely means infections. Out of surgery his nurses made sure I had my pain meds, acid blockers and other meds. I never once had to ask, they were on top of it. I saw Dr. Alvarez and one other doctor from his team everyday I was there. I am very happy I went to Mexico, because I had more time in the hospital, then I would of had here in the states. The doctor I researched in Georgia was going to do day surgery, that would not have worked for me because I wasn't in any shape to move around and climb stairs in my home the day of surgery. I'm glad I had the 3 days of extra help. The directions for home care, and the follow up emails from Dr. Alvarez I have been receiving have been very useful in my journey so far.
I had gastric sleeve. No complications. I'm a month out and I've lost 21 pounds. I'm very happy with my decision and extremely happy with Dr. Alvarez and him team. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend him to anyone.

March 14, 2020

Overall
avatar

The process with Dr. A is very smooth! I researched for about a year before I finally decided to have the surgery. I am a month out and down 36 lbs already! The Endohospital is very clean and beautiful. The staff are mostly bilingual and really care about providing you a great experience. My spouse accompanied me and their team even took care of him! My only recommendation would be to provide maybe a nice pillow and blanket or sheet for those that come with the patient, but we had brought our own so I just shared with him. Overall, I couldn’t have asked for a better experience!

Feb. 22, 2020

Overall
avatar

When I made the decision to have VSG, what initially led me to Dr. A was how many medical personnel left their prospective hospitals in the U.S. to go to him. As an RN, that sparked my interest and through their testimonials and then my own research, it didn’t take long for me to know without a doubt that Dr. A and Endobariatric was the right choice for me. From the very first contact I had with his staff, then with him, I had full confidence that I had made the right decision. None of that compared though to my actual personal experience from the moment I arrived in San Antonio heading to Mexico. I’m a firm believer that the medical staff and all other employees of a Dr. truly reflects on the character of that Dr and I was impressed all around. The treatment and respect from the staff went above and beyond all of my expectations and Dr. A was the icing on the cake. Beyond being an amazing surgeon and master at his craft, he’s a kind man with high regard for his staff and his patients. He’s humbled and appreciative to all that choose him to be their surgeon and his love for his work shows in his success rate. He’s a real family man and truly treats his patients as he’d want his family treated. It was a wonderful experience in all ways. I’m 15 weeks post-op now and haven’t had any complications. Any concern I’ve had, even though I’m all the way in Florida, I know he is only a phone call or email away and has always gotten back to me the same day. I have never felt alone in my journey and know he’s there for me and for all of his patients for life. This is a true family experience and the ladies that I met who had surgery with me, are my forever friends. If you’re looking for the BEST Bariatric Surgeon ever... look no further... your journey to health starts with Dr. A and Endobariatric!!!

Feb. 2, 2020

Overall
avatar

Review Part 2:
It's been about 6 months since my initial review. I am still losing weight thanks to VSG with Dr. Alvarez and the Endobariatric team! I BMI prior to surgery was 37.5. Today it is 27.0, getting close to the "normal" range.
My activity level has skyrocketed. I used to do very little for myself. Now I am able to help with housework and be more interactive. Feels like more of the former me is coming back into focus.
I'm very glad to have had the surgery. No regrets!

Jan. 12, 2020

Overall

1 previous review. « hide

It is extremely rare to find health care providers that go so far above and beyond the general level of what is barely needed or barely covered by an insurance company. I was unhappy with the local bariatric surgeon and the insurance process so i looked elsewhere, beyond the border. I heard and saw internet advertisements for WLS in Mexico and unfortunately i was 1 of those skeptics that said i prefer to keep all of my organs. After seriously researching foreign medical places and doctors i came across Endobariatric and Dr. Alvarez. I started by reading the info on the website and then watching most of the "AskDrA" series on youtube. i got a lot of great information for free and decided to give Dr. Alvarez and his team a try.
I would say the worst part of the whole experience was traveling. It had been over a decade since i flew on an airplane and airport crowds freak me out a bit. Once I met with Rosy until the time she dropped me back at the hotel i felt completely taken care of. i worried a little before the trip about safety and i felt safer there in Mexico than places i lived in the U.S. Everything was spelled out quite well in the pre-op instructions, what to expect and when. There were no big surprises. The staff was completely welcoming and nice, didn't have any communication problems at all. The actual surgery must have gone well. I had some initial pain once i woke up but they fixed that immediately. The main pain after that just felt like paper cuts where the incisions were.
It's been about 2 months since my surgery and i have lost about 40 pounds so far. Its still a little strange at times not being able to eat much and sometimes i feel like i want to eat more but that is why i needed the surgery. I highly recommend Endobariatric to anyone seeking weight-loss surgery. It's quick, relatively painless, and quite safe - with top notch doctors and nurses. Everyone steps up to their role in the hospital, like a very well oiled machine. If i had to do over, I wouldn't change a thing!

July 17, 2019

Overall
avatar

Outstanding surgeon, has a top notch facility. Extremely professional staff, most speak better English than I do. I can highly recommend this facility and staff. My wife is having the same surgery in February. 2020.
It was actually cheaper to have the surgery in Mexico than to pay 2 years worth of copays while fighting your way through the US insurance system.

Jan. 8, 2020

Overall
avatar

I was REALLY skeptical about having bariatric surgery... add in Mexico and I was hyperventilating. However, after doing "more" research and speaking with Brandy (Endobariatric Coordinator) I decided not to go into another year obese. Brandy was awesome, down to earth, funny, and most importantly-honest. I underwent sleeve gastrectomy on November 26, 2019. From arrival to departure the Endobariatric team was friendly, professional, and caring of my needs. The facility is EXACTLY like the pictures - simply BEAUTIFUL. The convenience of having the hospital, hotel, and recovery all in one building was genius.

What matter most (too me)was the surgeons were not "ghost". Dr Alvarez and his team rotated consistently after my surgery. Not once did I feel alone or abandon. Dr. Alvarez made my presence at his facility personal and comfortable. He took the time to visit and discuss the surgery before hand, monitor my recovery, and wished me farewell upon leaving the hospital.

Going with Endobariatric was one of the best decisions I ever made. To date, I continue to stay in touch with the Endo team through their FaceBook support group, which is AMAZING!

Thank you Dr. Alvarez & Endobariatric Team:)

Jan. 7, 2020

Overall
avatar

My surgery was 9/17/2019. Dr. Alvarez, his medical team, and the Endobariatric facility were all amazing! If any of my friends or family are interested in the sleeve procedure in the future, Dr. A will be the surgeon I recommend. I sound a little redundant but "AMAZING" is the most appropriate word I can come up with for my experience at Endobariatrics under the care of Dr. Alvarez.

My life has and continues to change for the better, Thank You Dr. A!

JoAnne

Jan. 6, 2020

Overall
avatar

Choosing Dr. Alvarez and the Endobariatric Clinic to perform my gastric sleeve was one of the best decisions I have ever made. Weight has been an obstacle in my life for the past 30 years and has stopped me from living the kind of life that I have wanted. After hearing about the experience a friend of mine had with Dr. A, I quickly decided to take control of my weight and my life and within 6 weeks had the procedure completed. Every aspect of this experience has more than exceeded my expectations. The pre-surgery materials were extremely helpful, the surgery and stay at the clinic was outstanding and the results post-surgery have changed my life. I have lost 87 lbs since having the surgery 5 months ago. I am way more active and able to participate in activities I was either scared to try or just physically couldn't and I see a lot more potential for the future. I would recommend Dr. Alvarez and his team to anyone who wants to take control of their weight goals! So far so good and I anticipate continued benefits in the future as my journey has just begun.

Jan. 6, 2020

Overall
avatar

AWESOME comes to mind when I think of Dr. A and his team.. Love everything about the place and people that changed my life.

Jan. 5, 2020

Overall
DISCLAIMER
The information on this page is presented as supplied by the indicated members of our community. ObesityHelp.com does not monitor or edit this information.
×