Guillermo Alvarez

Bariatric Surgeon
Rating: 4.97363796134 out of 5 with 964 ratings

Guillermo Alvarez Bariatric Surgeon MD

Guillermo Alvarez Bariatric Surgeon Picture

13 yr in Bariatrics

13 yr in Laparoscopic Surgery

13 yr in Laparoscopic Bariatrics

100% Practice is Bariatrics

Min Age of Patient is 11

Max Age of Patient is 74


964 Reviews for Guillermo Alvarez
Show reviews by   Sort by Most Helpful | Newest
avatar

There are no words to express how this was the best decision for my health I have ever made. I have dieted my whole life, including pills, obsessive working out, WW, doctor-supervised, no carbs, Whole 30, etc. If it came across my table, I was all in. Unfortunately, same applied to food. If it came across the table, it was all in as well. I never was really hungry, but also never really full. I have spent the last several years packing on weight, and hiding in my home, avoiding all things social, face-planting in to the couch due to lack of energy. The decision to have the surgery was after turning 51 and a lifetime of failed attempts, I had met a few friends who had quietly done this. They were way heavier to me (in my head, anyway) so I never thought I would qualify. I began researching....my doctor was all for, as was my husband and my 80 year old mom. I was like, DANG...maybe i am worse than i thought. I called my insurance. I even qualified for coverage. REALLY??? lol. Full denial coming to light of how bad I had let things get.
However checking into insurance, there were at least 6 months of hoops to jump through...including several appts with various doctors, monitored dieting, etc...which could have actually have lead to me falling under the line to qualify at the time of the actual procedure.
In January, one of my husband's friends was talking to my husband about his returning from Mexico and Dr. Alvarez. His wife had done this a couple years before. He said call and see about it, get it on the books. Next thing i knew, after some interview screening, I was booked to go in under a month.
Long story short, the facility was 5 star, the staff was friendly, engaging, professional. Dr. A is personable and present. This place has hotel suites built in so that you are never off-site during the visit. Also, being able to stay an extra day longer in setting allows peace of mind that everything is healing successfully. My travel person was able to go for a spa day (arranged and accompanied by a staff member who acts as a concierge for all the patients and families.) The night before we left, all the patients and companions hung out in room together, like a dorm party. Such a positive experience every step of the way. If i had gone the original route, I would still be waiting on the surgery to take place. And i would have still had all of my weight plus another 30 lbs for being in lockdown for 9 weeks.
Instead I am down about 30, clothes are fun again, my eating is completely under control, my energy is back. I feel like I have been given back my life. It is really emotional, y'all. Lol!
Unfortunately, I have avoided pics the last several years, and also people. So now that i am down about 30, most folks aren't even noticing, because they never saw me at my largest. But for the introvert side of me, I don't mind, just because the real reward at the moment is just enjoying their company again in person, and being happy in my own skin. I am only 3 months in, and if the weight loss stopped right now, it would have been completely worth it. However I still am supposed to keep losing weight for several more months, and with the added exercise I actually enjoy, I will be evolving for a while.
I told my people, if given the choice of doing this surgery at home or traveling to Mexico to be under Dr. Alvarez's care, there is no choice. I would 100% do it again, even if it was having to wait for him for six months. He is the definition of an expert in this area. His resumé is off the charts. God bless him in his continued efforts to change people's lives for the better.

May 25, 2020

Overall
avatar

Wonderful physician with the BEST bedside manner. Immaculate facilities. He provides all the information you would ever need, to EVERYONE through his website and videos, that I felt like I knew him before I ever met him. Best decision I’ve EVER made for myself.

May 15, 2020

Overall
avatar

I have struggled with obesity all of my adult life. After trying and failing at countless diets and programs I had resigned myself to being obese. I didn’t like the way I looked but i was mobile and otherwise in decent health. As I got closer to 40 that began to change. I developed sleep apnea and seemingly overnight my knees started aching with every step. In June 2019 I visited the doctor and learned I weighed 351 lbs. I was floored! I was skeptical of bariatric surgery but I had a friend who had great success and I was curious. We met for dinner just days after that doctors appointment and that is when I first learned of Dr Alvarez, my friend couldn’t say enough good things about him and his staff. Then he told me...Mexico! I was very apprehensive. I went home and did extensive research. What I learned changed my mind. I scheduled my surgery for January 30, 2020 and never looked back. Traveling to Mexico was super easy thanks to Dr Alvarez and his amazing driver, Rosey. The hospital, Endohosipal, is a beautiful, clean, state of the art building. The staff takes care of your and your companions every need. They make you comfortable and at ease from the first interaction. I truly can’t say enough good things about the hospital and the staff. Dr. Alvarez was so personal and caring. He makes himself available to his patients like no other doctor I have seen. He truly cares about people and their health and he radiates kindness. My gastric sleeve surgery was a breeze and I was shocked when I woke up and realized how good I felt for just having surgery. If you are considering a gastric sleeve you would be doing yourself a disservice by not considering Dr Alvarez. He is an A++ surgeon and man of integrity and love. I am three months post-op and I am so pleased with my results so far. I’m 70 lbs down, the pain in my knees and the sleep apnea is gone. I have a whole new lease on life, all thanks to Dr. A and he team!

April 30, 2020

Overall
avatar

The very best decision of my life. Dr. A is the real deal he and his staff saved my life! I'm absolutely one of the luckiest person alive. If you've tried everything to lose weight, take the first step and reach out to Dr. A and his wonderful team.

April 25, 2020

Overall

1 previous review. « hide

The very best decision of my life. Dr. A is the real deal! I'm absolutely one of the luckiest people alive.

April 25, 2020

Overall
avatar

Dr. Guillermo Alvarez and his staff, amazing! From the very first contact as I began exploring their facility stood out light years beyond other facilities in Mexico, (and the U.S. for that matter).
My surgery was March 21st 2020, feeling better every day, as of this post April 25th 2020, I've let go of 52 lbs! and feel like I am no longer the one everyone looks upon with judgment.
I will always be grateful to the Lord for leading me to Dr. A. Truly a hero in my book!

April 25, 2020

Overall
avatar

best thing I have ever done for myself. these are the best people to have this surgery with! Great experience!

April 22, 2020

Overall
avatar

I am very thankful that a co-worker recommended this surgery and Mr. Alvarez for this procedure. It was a great experience from the moment you are on their website getting information, thru the end of the process even with follow up. I am barely hitting my 3 month mark from my surgery date, and I have been extremely happy with the results to date. It is definitely a change of life style, do not think it is an easy solution or way out for weight loss, it is a great tool.

April 21, 2020

Overall
avatar

I had surgery with Dr. Alvarez on January 17, 2020. Today on only April 16,2020 I am down 61 pounds! This man has not only saved my life but gave me a reason to live! I am only 26 years old and I was on a slippery slope being 295 pounds. I have a 5 year old son and need to be here not only for him but for him to see me enjoy life! It’s hard being so heavy and still being able to go play outside with him. Since losing 61 pounds I have been much more active with him! We go on almost daily walks and even go on hikes with my family now! I can’t wait to see what I will be doing at a year out! Thank you so much Dr. Alvarez! The whole experience has been absolutely amazing! It’s great to see a doctor who cares about you so much and checks up on you all the time!

April 16, 2020

Overall
avatar

Absolutely the best experience ever. Dr. A and his team were fabulous. The entire process from booking to home was seamless. The staff are the best. Each went above and beyond to ensure myself and husband were comfortable. If I could have Dr. A as my sole medical provider I would do it in a heartbeat. A+++++++++++++++++++++++++

April 16, 2020

Overall
avatar

Dr. Alvarez and his staff were amazing! They were all so attentive and caring. My 15 year old son and I had surgery on March 10th. I trusted him with my most precious gift - my child. Thank you Dr. A!

April 14, 2020

Overall
DISCLAIMER
The information on this page is presented as supplied by the indicated members of our community. ObesityHelp.com does not monitor or edit this information.
×