Help! Leg cramps and stamina?

Turtle Lynn
on 7/1/13 12:54 pm - New Castle, DE
RNY on 05/29/12 with

I have been doing the treadmill and stationary bike now for about 2 months about 3 days a week and then 2 days a week of weight training with a personal trainer.  My trainer, my Endocrinologist and my Dietitian all want me to up the intensity and length of my cardio. . .okay fine, no problem. . .except, if I go faster than 3.5-3.8 mph on the treadmill, I start getting muscle spasms and numbness and tingling in my toes and up the sides of my feet and calves.

The elliptical absolutely kills me, I apparently have NO stamina for that, which kind of surprises me. . .my thighs burn and my heart rate skyrockets . . .the burning thighs I can push through on the bike with no problem but the elliptical kicks my butt every time and I can't manage to do more than 2 minutes, which is really discouraging.  Especially when I look around and there are people literally twice my size going to town on these machines like it is nothing, and I am standing there huffing and puffing like a freight train, trying to figure out what the heck is wrong with me that I can't do it without feeling like I'm gonna kick the bucket!  

I just saw my cardiologist, and other than having a heart murmur and mitral regurgitation, which is not new, there is nothing wrong with my heart and I am cleared for exercise.  I am having an echocardiogram in about two weeks just because this is a new cardiologist and I haven't had one done in about 2 years and he just wants to take a look at my valves for himself.  He knows and has worked with my previous cardiologist and I was only one a once a year follow up schedule just to check in and make sure there aren't any changes and he said that with my blood work, other than my iron being low came back fine.