How do you vegetarians get in your protein??

poet_kelly
on 9/26/11 10:24 am - OH
I've never liked tofu because of the texture.  I've tried to like it.  Every once in a while I try it again.  But I don't like it.

I love Indian food.  I haven't had any in a long time.  I live in a small town and there are no Indian restaurants here.  Darn it, now I want Indian!

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

hlacy
on 9/26/11 10:27 am - Chandler, AZ
Thank goodness for a vegetarian that does not like tofu!! LOL

Sorry about the Indian food reference...I crave it, too, but it's too early I think for me! I am lucky that I live in AZ, near the West Coast, so veg-wise we have a lot of options here luckily. I can't wait to try out the vegan Indian restaurant here in town - no ghee so the fat calories will be less! I hope it's not loaded with carbs, though, just lots of delish veggies and spices!
"Keep a green tree in your heart and perhaps a singing bird will come"           

CarolineM
on 9/26/11 5:13 am
 I eat a lot of Greek yogurt, eggs, cheese, beans, lentils, smoothie made with protein powder, edamame, tofu, hummus, veggie burgers. Most days I get 100-110 grams of protein and 1200-1400 calories.

Veggie burgers and other "meat replacement" things don't have as much protein as the equivalent amount of meat, but they do still have a decent amount of protein. And as Kelly said, adding cheese to a veggie burger ups the protein.
  HW 400   SW 355    CW 178   GW 180           5'10"

Dan OBrien
on 9/26/11 5:35 am - FL
If we're not supposed to eat animals, how come they're made of meat?