embarrassed to ask but need relief...skin apron problems

timetoloveme62
on 11/30/11 8:43 am - VA
 I haven't had surgery yet, it is monday but I am extremly overweight and I have an apron of skin that hangs off my belly.  Under that is red, and raw and smells horrible right now.  I have tried everything I know of, I know I need to keep it dry but how?  Has anyone ever experienced anything like this, what do I do?  
poet_kelly
on 11/30/11 8:45 am - OH
I don't know how to keep it dry.  But talk to your doctor about it and make sure they document it in your chart, because there is a good chance your insurance will pay to have it removed if you want after you're done losing weight, if it's documented that other treatments were not effective.  You might also take pictures of it for the insurance company.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

timetoloveme62
on 11/30/11 8:47 am - VA
 Thank you, I will do that.  I see the surgeon tomorrow so I guess its good timing.
NANCY C.
on 11/30/11 8:47 am - OKLAHOMA CITY, OK
 Don't be embarrassed.  Everyone understands here!  I actually have had that happen and what I did was first gently wash and dry the area and then I put vaseline all over the raw area.  It works for me and usually within 24 hours the pain is gone.  You may want to do this more than once if it is really sore.

Others may have better ideas - I just know this works for me.

HW  313   SW  285   Goal 155

lhollywood
on 11/30/11 8:52 am