Stopped loosing weight

mmartinez1021
on 6/11/13 12:30 pm

I had my surgery April 10, 2012.  I was weighing 350. I weigh 240 I have been t this weight for more than 6 months.  I feel really depressed like I failed.  Can some tell me what how to start loosing weight again.  I feel like I can eat anything.

poet_kelly
on 6/11/13 12:38 pm, edited 6/11/13 12:38 pm - OH

Well, you probably need to eat less and/or exercise more.  It's hard to give specific suggestions without knowing what you're doing now.  How many calories do you eat in an average day?  How active are you?

What did your surgeon suggest at your one year follow up?

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

Cicerogirl, The PhD
Version

on 6/11/13 12:47 pm - OH

You are just a little over a year out, so you can still take advantage of having some caloric malabsorption (but that is fading fast).  You need to go back to basics of eating a high-protein, low carb, limited portion diet.  many of us can eat almost anything without getting sick.  That doesn't mean that you SHOULD eat everything, though, especially if you want to continue to lose.  If you stopped losing 6 months ago, you need to take a good look at what (and how much) you are eating, because you should not have quit losing so soon.  If you can give us some idea of what you are eating on a daily basis, we can suggest changes that might help you start losing again.

The bottom line is that -- just as was the case before the surgery -- you have to eat fewer calories than you burn on a daily basis.

Lora

14 years out; 190 pounds lost, 165 pound loss maintained

You don't drown by falling in the water. You drown by staying there.

A_new_beginning