im scared

Karyn R.
on 9/13/05 8:42 am - wynantskill, NY
hello, i am kind of new around here. I just had my first sleep study in august and it was determined that i have very severe sleep apnea, 378 total obstructions with average being 58/per hour. I am only 27 years old and i am terrified of what this means. The dr keeps telling me dont worry but I cant stop crying. I have a little girl and since she was born I have gained over 100 lbs. and it didnt really sink in what i am doing until i got these test results back. can anyone reassure me, are there any long lasting affects, has anyone died from this, SHOULD i be so worried? Thanks, Karyn
bonnie S.
on 9/13/05 9:38 pm - fort edward, NY
Hi Karyn, and welcome. I am also pretty new around here. I just went for my first appointment with sleep apnea doctor. No results yet. It sounds pretty scarey with your numbers so high but truthfully i don't know enough about it yet since i'm just starting out too. I did want to tell you to listen to your doctor.....he really does know what he's doing. (usually)haha. Don't worry, they will help you through all of this. Good Luck! Bonnie
Karyn R.
on 9/13/05 9:44 pm - wynantskill, NY
Thanks bonnie, welcome to you also. good luck with your test. i will try to listen to my dr. he is a good dr. but its hard to believe i shouldnt worry!
hessie28
on 9/16/05 2:38 pm
Hi, I was diagnosed after losing 165 pounds. I had 191 times that I stopped breathing. My diagnosis was Obstructive Sleep Apnea and Narcolepsy. Mine comes out to every 20 minutes that I stopped breathing. I think it is very rare that someone dies. You will probably be set up with a CPAP machine that you will use when you sleep. I had trouble with mine so I was fitted with a mandibular dental device. I think if you don't take care of it, you can wind up with high blood pressure. So, you should be worried but don't go nuts about it. With treatment you will do fine. Good luck with everything.
Karyn R.