Calling all VSG veterans

QTR-nevermore
on 7/2/16 10:56 am

I am the wife of a good man and the lucky mother of six children who are all naturally thin so far. I am a nursing student going into my Senior year of my BSN, and will finish my first college degree 30 years after I first went to school. I have been jumping through the hoops that line up before surgery, trying to time it far enough ahead of Fall term so I am not trying to do clinicals while dealing with hormone dumps, etc. I hope I am able to deal with it!

I have questions percolating. Any help would be great. Hopefully I can get input from long-term VSGers, both from people who are  loving this journey and those who have had a harder slog. Thank you all in advance.

My history is like yours, lots of yo-yo success and failure, always trending up. My highest wt was 265, currently I am at 251.

QUESTION: Is regain after a sleeve easier to get off than it was before surgery, or at some point does it start to seem like the same relentless, creeping horror all over again?

QUESTION: What does a hormone dump feel like, and how long do they go on?

QUESTION: How do you get help in keeping danger foods out of the house when you have a family that has no idea what you are going through? My husband's idea of helping is cheerfully not giving me any of what he brings home for him and the kids on the weekends.

QUESTION: What long-term benefits and disadvantages have you experienced?

QUESTION: Any regrets?

QUESTION: What counsel do you have for me?

White Dove
on 7/2/16 1:26 pm - Warren, OH

I had R NY but believe VSGers will agree it is much harder to lose regain after surgery than it was before.  Once you get the weight off, don't slack off and think you are done.

Google studies about Biggest Loser contestants and how resistant to weight loss they are after their massive non-surgical weight loss.  The body tries to get its weight back.

Real life begins where your comfort zone ends

QTR-nevermore