Why watch "My 600 Pound Life"?

LuckyLoser
on 3/6/19 3:18 am, edited 3/6/19 3:20 am - NEPA, PA
RNY on 08/20/18

Hello Everyone:

I will start off my post by saying that I am one of those people who do no****ch TV on a regular basis. In general, I don't find it very entertaining or engaging.

At various times, I have seen others post on OH about TV shows regarding individuals who are SMO, such as "My 600 Pound Life. " Sometimes, they seem to get really emotionally tied up with the SMO individuals' struggles to lose weight.

I will admit that I have never watched a full episode of "My 600 Pound Life"--only clips. This may be creating a bias. Also, I work in the health care field and this may also play a role in my aversion to these type of shows.

As you travel through your own weight loss journey, how do you feel about these types of TV shows? Do you watch them? What do you feel that you get out of watching these kind of TV shows?

Thank you in advance for taking the time to reply to my questions!

---Joyce

(Edited to correct several spelling errors.)

Height: 5'2" Starting Weight: 260

Surgery Weight: 232 Goal Weight: 140

Current Weight: 179

"Fall down seven times and get up eight."

catwoman7
on 3/6/19 6:44 am
RNY on 06/03/15

not a TV person, either - I rarely turn mine on and we haven't had cable in YEARS, but I've seen a few 600 lb Life episodes on youtube. Occasionally I find it interesting, but mostly not - the shows are very formulaic and they often show things that I find very exploitative - like showing them taking a shower or getting sponge baths from their spouses or kids. I don't know why they find it necessary to humiliate people like that. When I do watch it (which is like three times a year), I can only manage one episode. So no, I don't really like it. Plus I think it gives normies a weird perception of WLS patients. There's a British show on WLS that I've heard is better and more realistic, but I've never seen it.