9 months out Sleeve to DS (with pics!)

celticfaery
on 7/16/13 5:22 am - Walker, LA
DS on 10/11/12

Lately, I've been so busy living life, I've donned the "lurker" status.  LOL! 

A little about me for those who don't know me.  I was sleeved in June 2007.  My highest weight was 425.  The lowest weight I got to with the sleeve was 236 and it took me 2 years to get there.  I stayed 236 for about 2 seconds before I started regaining again. I allowed myself to get back up to 353 before I went ahead with adding the DS.  I had been researching it for several years once I quit losing with the sleeve.  I have to say that my only regret was that I didn't just do it then.

In the last 9 months, I find that I am still learning and adjusting to what works and doesn't work with my DS.  Some weeks one thing will work and then it will stop working and I have to keep tweaking and find the next thing that works.  It's a constant thing.  I will say that my diet is much LESS restricted than when I just had the sleeve.  I consider myself a hyperabsorber whereas my body wants to hold on to every little thing that passes my lips.  Because of that, I really had to limit what I ate with the sleeve.  Low/no fat, low calorie, ultra low carb, no fruits, very few veggies - only greens, only lean proteins but no beef or pork.  This made long-term living with the sleeve nearly impossible for me.  I would get so burnt out on the few things I could eat, that eventually I'd just completely fall off the wagon and then struggle for months afterward to get back on.  It became a vicious yo-yo all over again.

During the last 9 months, I have had my doubts.  I wonder if I will make it to my goal weight with the DS.  I have been SMO for so long, it's hard to see that I could ever be close to a normal weight.  I'm 32 years old...  Only 5'2.  But I just keep hoping that if I do the right things, make the right choices, then eventually I will get there...  even if it takes 2 or 3 years.