Running/Jogging Advice

rhearob
on 4/24/12 12:26 am - TN
I need some advice people:

I never could really run before, I was just too heavy and it hurt my joints like heck.  I have lost a good amount of weight on ellipticals, stationary bikes, and by walking.  My weight loss is slowing down so I want to amp it up.  I am going to start running in the evenings.

I don't really get good workouts on gym equipment, because I just can't get into it mentally - I get too bored which doesn't happen outdoors.

Im a running newbie, so I want some advice on what to do to do this safely and effectively?  Whats the best way for a newbie to get started.  I'd like to work my way up to maybe being able to participate in a 5K this fall.

Any and all advice is welcomed.

VSG: 11/2/2011; LBL+Thigh Lift+BL: 10/3/2012; Brach+Mastopexy:  7/22/2013

Kim S.
on 4/24/12 1:32 am - Helena, AL
Many people have success using the Couch to 5K program.

I just started running.  I ran intervals on my treadmill for about a year, and got bored.  So I decided to "take it outside".  There is a nice 4 mile paved, walking/running/biking path near my home.  I went there, put on my iPod and started running.  I could barely run at first!  It took many months for me to be able to run a full mile without stopping.

I have arthritis in my knees so they often dictate how much I can actually run.  Ironically, the more I run, the less problems I have with my knees.

Some pointers:

1)  GET FITTED FOR GOOD RUNNING SHOES.  Go to a running store and get fitted and buy them there.  They cost approx $100.  The best money I ever spent.  Make sure you spend some time stretching and warming up before you run.
2)  Google "breathing while running".  You'll find several good articles about controlling your breathing, which is key to building endurance.