Running into a "Wall"

Tom C.
on 6/29/12 2:14 am - Mount Arlington, NJ

I am somewhat relatively new to the jogging scene, and I seem to be having a “reoccurring" issue.

I run about 3 – 4 times a week (one day on, one day off). I don’t run at an extremely face pace, and I try to average 12.0 pace.

Last year I was able to get up to doing 9 miles. Then I hit “a wall" and couldn’t get past the 9 miles. While I know THIS is somewhat common, what occurred next may not be. From being able to do 9 miles I went down to 7 miles; then 5 miles; then 4 miles, then I got “depressed" and stopped all together.

After about 3 months I got back “on track" (no pun intended). And would progress slowly.

Recently I’ve been doing a “steady" 6 1/2 miles (3 times a week). This week I tried for 7 miles, and I petered out between 3.5 and 4 miles. I figured I was probably running faster (I AM trying to quicken my pace), and since I was off for 4 days I thought that contributed to it too.

Yesterday, after 1 day of rest, I tried for 7 miles again, and again I failed. I did anywhere between 4.5 and 6 miles (2 devices gave 2 separate completely unrelated readings, and using a mapping website it looks as if I did 5 miles).

Now I am getting worried. Can I be falling ‘backwards’ again?

So my questions are

(1) Is this common

(2) If so, how does one break this pattern

(3) If not, any ideas what I am doing “wrong"

(4) Any suggestions that may prevent me from slipping back further?

Good Luck on your Journey !!

Tom

“Nothing I will ever eat will give me the feeling I get as when I lose weight”  The views expressed are based on my own experiences - and should NOT BE FOLLOWED IN LIEU OF DOCTOR’S ADVICE/INSTRUCTIONS. Only your Doctor knows your condition, and make sure you talk to them before making any changes to your diet
Paul C.
on 6/29/12 3:05 am - Cumming, GA
 Whats your diet like?  Are you taking in the type of foods that will provide you the fuel you need?