Anyone have some tips?

(deactivated member)
on 3/17/15 7:07 am - Canada

I've been using a CPAP for about 8 months. I had RNY surgery on Feb 20/15. My problem is that I never wake up with the mask still on. At some point every night I remove it and turn the machine off. I don't remember doing this. LOL I have the humidity on my unit at it's max because I suffer from a very dry mouth and nose due to a medication I am on. I'm thinking that even with the humidity my mouth is drying out and maybe this is what is triggering me to take it off. I'm at a loss to know what to stop this. I can feel the difference in my energy level and know I need to figure this out. Any suggestions? Thanks Chris

(deactivated member)
on 3/20/15 12:11 pm
RNY on 05/04/15

Hi Chris, another CPAP user here. Did this start happening after your surgery, or has it always been the case? I had to try a TON of masks before I finally found one I could tolerate, but when I found the right one, I don't even notice it anymore. Also, if your CPAP machine is on a set pressure, it might be too high for you now that you've lost weight. You might need another sleep study to get your pressure checked. If your machine is auto-adjusting though, that's probably not it unless it's set to start at a high pressure. I'd recommend giving your DME company a call...unintentionally de-masking yourself is a really common CPAP problem, and they can suggest a different mask for you or let you know if they think you need to see your sleep doctor again. Good luck!

(deactivated member)
on 3/21/15 1:00 am - Canada