Dmitri Baranov

Bariatric Surgeon
Rating: 5.0 out of 5 with 155 ratings

Dmitri Baranov Bariatric Surgeon MD, PhD, FACS

Dmitri Baranov Bariatric Surgeon Picture

100% Practice is Bariatrics

Min Age of Patient is 18

Max Age of Patient is none


Terry Bedard Profile Pic
Terry Bedard
MS, RN
Sarah Rigley Profile Pic
Sarah Rigley
BSN, Nurse Navigator
Nicole Gehman Profile Pic
Nicole Gehman
MS, RD, CDN
Stephanie Samascott Profile Pic
Stephanie Samascott
MS, RD,CDN
Amber Towers Profile Pic
Amber Towers
Lead Patient Access Specialist
Rhonda Bonacci Profile Pic
Rhonda Bonacci
Patient Access Specialist
Sonya Smith Profile Pic
Sonya Smith
Patient Representative
Deborah Cottone Profile Pic
Deborah Cottone
Patient Access Specialist
JC Cummings Profile Pic
JC Cummings
Surgery Scheduler

155 Reviews for Dmitri Baranov
Show reviews by   Sort by Most Helpful | Newest
avatar

Dr. Baranov and his staff are truly top notch. I am 3 days post-op, have no pain and feel great. The care I received was above and beyond, with him checking in over the weekend to make sure everything was going smoothly. If you are considering weight loss surgery, you will be treated with the best care and consideration by Dr. Baranov and his staff, as they truly want you to succeed on your weight loss journey.

June 26, 2021

Overall
avatar

I am 1 week post op and my experience so far has been top notch. I had looked into this a few years ago and had even gone to an in person information group session. I wasn't ready then. This past spring I joined in on one of the information web calls and then followed up and scheduled an appointment. Dr. Baranov and every staff member that I have met have been very knowledgeable. Each has been kind and courteous. Dr Baranov has things set up for you after that initial consultation that I found put me on the right track almost immediately. He set a reasonable goal weight pre-surgery and made sure that I visited several other health professionals to ensure I was ready in both mind and body. The pressure I have put on myself to succeed in this life change is the only pressure I have felt. I know that with the support of my wife, family and Dr Baranov's staff I will get healthier.

June 13, 2021

Overall
avatar

Dr. Baranov made me feel that I was in safe and experienced hands. He is very knowledgeable and he made sure that I understood every single step of the process. He was very patient in answering my questions while educating me with info that is pertinent to my success. His staff is always professional and friendly for every one of my visits. I am highly impressed with the medical services that I have received. He has made this process much less intimidating; which allowed me to be confident in my decision to undergo surgery and commit to new healthier lifestyle. I am so excited for my new journey!! Thank you, Dr. Baranov!!

June 13, 2021

Overall
avatar

After years of struggling and Yo-yoing with weight issues, reaching my heaviest and having a total hip replacement I needed a life style change for my health and well-being. I finally seeked help with Dr. Dmitri Baranov with Saratoga Hospital. I had to lose a few pounds before I could have the bypass. With help from using the Saxenda injection used daily I was able to reach my pounds plus needed for the surgery in 4 months. I had the surgery 3 weeks ago and I was expecting to be in alot more pain and discomfort. With Dr. Baranov using the surgical robot it was alot less invasive. He had to correct 2 hernias and some scar tissue while in there. He did a fantastic job and the most discomfort I had was getting rid of the gas they used during the procedure. I'm very pleased with Dr. Baranov and I highly recommend him for weight loss help... He even took time to call me on a Sunday evening to checkup on me... Thank You Dr. Baranov and your staff

June 10, 2021

Overall
avatar

If you are having second thoughts or are anxious about having surgery, please do not. Dr, Baranov is one of the best doctors I have had with weight loss. He is very thorough with his instructions and his staff takes very good care of you. If you have a question about anything do not hesitate to call the office. I also recommend watching the seminar that is first offered to know what the surgery is all about.

June 7, 2021

Overall
avatar

If you’ve considered or are considering WLS, do it, follow through. I’m 61 and after years of dieting, crash diets, gimmicks, I stopped trying. September 2020 my spine gave way and the orthopedic surgeon said he couldn’t operate because I was too big. He suggested bariatric surgery to lose weight to possibly alleviate spine issues. Fast forward to January 2021, my first appointment with Dr. Baranov. It was intense, informative, scary and relieving at the same time. I was completely at peace with my decision because I knew I was in great hands. His staff were so helpful through it all. No fears, no anxiety. My surgery date was 5/26/2021 and I feel great! Surgery was just over an hour and now 4 days post op, I’m sipping required liquids, walking, NO PAIN! None! I’m determined on this journey and I know my surgeon and his team will always be there! Don’t delay. Get informed, get your mind in the right place for success and get going! You’ve got SO much to lose! Thank you, Dr. Baranov for believing in me.

May 30, 2021

Overall
avatar

5/10/2021 Gastric By-Pass surgery with Dr. Dmitri V. Baranov of Saratoga Hospital. After several failed weight loss attempts, something had to be done. I started my research on-line and speaking with several others, Dr. Baranov was clearly the best for this surgery.
After attending the virtual seminar, I met with Dr. Baranov and his team a few weeks later. My initial appointment was about 2 hours. Dr. Baranov was very thorough, answered all my questions and never made me feel rushed. I had known I made the right decision with Dr. Baranov; he truly cares about his patients and only wants the best possible outcome for you.
The office staff now stepped in to coordinate a few additional appointments needed to be completed prior to scheduling a surgery date, saving me time having to set them up myself. Once I successfully completed everything the Dr. had asked of me, the call came in with my surgery date. I was so excited and nervous at the same time…it was GO time.
I met with Dr. Baranov one last time before my surgery to go over everything to expect and what he expected of me. My plan for the next 2 months was clearly laid out for me and my success.
Morning of surgery: I was a bit nervous until Dr. Baranov walked in. He went back over with me what to expect and what he would like me to do once in my room. At that moment all the nerves went away. Next thing I was waking up in my private room with little to no discomfort. I was able to get out of bed and get myself dressed and started walking and “sipping” water. I continued to walk hourly and focused on “sipping” I slept well that night, woke up and showered, and started walking and “sipping” again. No discomfort at all…. amazing. Dr. Baranov had come up in the morning to check in, shared some pictures of the surgery with me and came back up again in the early afternoon. After reviewing my success plan for the next 7 weeks, I was ready to go home. I had left the hospital by 1 pm.
A few days later the hospital had called to check in on my progress.
Once I was home, I focused on walking and “sipping” my fluids while keeping a journal. I was still in shock that I had no pain at all. I felt GREAT and every day was getting better and better. Dr. Baranov called me Sunday night to see how I was feeling, go over my journal and talk about next steps. Again, never rushed me off the phone.
Every step of the way has been a positive experience from his office staff to Dr. Baranov to Saratoga Hospital. I look forward to my journey with Dr. Baranov and his team at my side.

If you are thinking about having this surgery, Dr. Baranov is top notch and has one goal in mind……. YOU!

May 17, 2021

Overall
avatar

Dr. Baranov did my gastric bypass surgery, 1 week ago today. I can’t even believe how good I feel. It is almost like I did not have surgery. Yes I have had some gas pain but as for surgical pains I have almost none.

He explained the procedure and post op plan very well, with specific instructions on what I should be drinking after, with a plan laid out for me for the 1st 3 months. I am very happy with the work Dr. Baranov has done for me.

May 17, 2021

Overall
avatar

Had my surgery @ Saratoga Hospital on 5/5/2021. I'm only 4 days Post Op. I'm looking forward to this new journey and new lifestyle. I thank Doctor Baranov as my surgeon and his practice/team. They were very informative and efficient. I stayed an extra night as I was unable to drink enough fluids and Dr. Baranov is very determined to make sure his patients are getting everything they need along with understanding everything you have to do when you leave. I have already received phone calls from the Hospital and Dr. Baranov himself to check in on me and ask how I'm doing and to see if I have any questions or concerns. I am highly impressed with my doctor and his team. I look forward to continuing this journey with them close by my side.

May 9, 2021

Overall
avatar

I made the decision to have the Roux-en-y gastric bypass surgery, after multiple weight loss attempts, that always led to the same result, gaining all of the lost weight back. I attended the virtual seminar and called two days later to setup an office visit. I had my initial office visit on 3/9/21. I met Dr. Baranov and his staff and felt very comfortable with my decision. Through the entire process, everyone I had contact with was very helpful and thorough. I had my Roux-en-y gastric bypass surgery on 5/3/21. I was nervous leading up to the surgery wondering if I was making the right decision. I am so glad I went through with it! Once out of recovery and in my room at Saratoga Hospital, I had very little discomfort. I was told before and after the surgery that the more I walked the better I would feel. I was able to walk 7500 steps that day! Amazing since I just had major surgery. I slept well and was able to get up, take a shower and start walking and concentrating on staying hydrated. I felt amazing! I felt like I could run a marathon, I had so much energy. I took acetaminophen when I got home and when I woke up the next morning, I had no pain other than at the incision sites. The pain was virtually nonexistent! That was 6 days ago and I feel amazing! I have not had to take any acetaminophen since then and have been virtually pain free. I have been able to stay hydrated and follow everything the Dr. has asked, except for one oversight on my part. Dr. Baranov’s office has been in contact with me and even Dr. Baranov called me today, Sunday, 5/9/21, I was not expecting that. I cannot say enough positive things about my experience with Dr. Baranov, his staff and the staff at Saratoga Hospital. For anyone considering having life changing weight loss surgery, I don’t believe there is anyone more capable and dedicated as Dr. Baranov .
As a side note, there is another bariatric center that is only a third of the distance to Saratoga Bariatrics and all I can say is it was worth all of the extra mileage and travel time to be taken care of by Dr. Baranov!

May 9, 2021

Overall
DISCLAIMER
The information on this page is presented as supplied by the indicated members of our community. ObesityHelp.com does not monitor or edit this information.
×