Worried about future hair loss

Mandopando
on 2/5/14 6:16 am

I have two weeks untl surgury and to be honest "the hair loss process" worries me the most. I am having panic attacks thinking about this. Can someone tell me when this usually starts, how bad it can get and when it should end? :( 

poet_kelly
on 2/5/14 6:44 am - OH

Usually starts about three months out and lasts another three months or so.  Some people hardly  notice it.  Others lose a lot more.

If you're having panic attacks just thinking about it, are you in therapy?  If not, you might wanna find a therapist because if just thinking about it causes panic attacks, what's going to happen if/when it actually starts to happen?

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

Cicerogirl, The PhD
Version

on 2/5/14 6:58 am - OH

What Kelly said.  If you are truly having even small panic attacks just hinting about looking some of your hair, a therapist is probably a really good idea.

Some people lose so little hair taht they barely notice it themselves; some people lose enough that they buy wigs to wear until the hair has had a chance to grow back.  MOST people, however, lose a moderate amount and find that cutting it a bit shorter to make it look fuller camouflages it enough that others don't notice it.

Keep in mind that you will be losing weight fairly rapidly during the first 6 months, so most people will be focused on how much tinner your fa and body are rather than on your hair.  Also, even if you lose a lot of hair (I lost half of mine), there are SO many wonderful things about being a normal size that it really makes the hair issue seem pretty minor.

Lora